Curriculum change

Curriculum and Assessment Reform
As you are probably aware, a process of reform of A level and GCSE courses, and their assessment, has taken place.
The main features of the new GCSEs are:
  • A grading scale of 9 to 1 rather than A* to G
  • More challenging knowledge-based content, extended writing; fewer bite-sized questions
  • Most assessment will be by examination although some coursework will remain in art, DT, drama, media, modern languages, music and PE
  • No modular exams; all examinations will be taken at the end of the course
  • Exams will only take place in the summer (except for a resit opportunity in English language and maths in November of year 12).

Ofqual has released the following diagram to explain how the new 9 to 1 grades will correspond to the old A*- G grades.

 Curriculum change

The main features of the reformed A levels are:
  • Assessment by examination where possible
  • More extended answers, fewer short-answer questions and greater challenge in mathematical content, where applicable
  • No modules; end of course examinations only
  • All A level content will be tested at end of the two year course, even if the student has taken the AS exam in Year 12
  • The reformed A levels will still be graded A* to E and AS levels graded A-E.
Years 7 – 11

All GCSEs taken at DHSB have now been reformed so from 2019 all GCSE grades will be graded 9 – 1.

Years 12 – 13

All A level exams taken at DHSB from 2019 will be the new reformed courses.