top of page

15 May 2015

Congratulations to our Ten Tors teams who completed the annual challenge on Dartmoor last weekend.

This is probably the first year we have entered four teams in this challenging test of endurance, navigation and team work and everyone completed in excellent time.

The biggest accolade must go to the 55 mile team, who were not only first on their route, but also the first 55 mile team home.

Our 45 mile teams were also first on their routes and the A Team was second 45 mile team and B Team fourth 45 mile team overall.

Thanks to Mr Ames, Mrs Wills, Ms Davidson, Mrs Heighway, Mr Huq and Mrs Huq who all gave a lot of their time to train and encourage the teams.

150515 35

35 Mile Team Tom Foreman, Jack Adams (Leader), Sam Cox, Harvey Huke, George Irving, Dan Harris

150515 45A

45 Mile Team A Joe Adkins, Bernie Sadler, George Scott, Jonathan Stoecker, Josh Porter, Max Smith (Leader)

150515 45B

45 Mile Team B Tom Chiappe, Sean Algar, Chris Turner, Matt Walker, Callum Waterhouse, James Blackford (Leader)

150515 55

55 Mile Team Ben Rollinson, Lloyd Barron-Robinson, Jack Williams (Leader), James Watt, Harry Ellicott, David Lee

We also recognise that many students take part in the Ten Tors Challenge with other organisations and wish to congratulate them too.

Oliver Rooke (Team leader), Daniel Burge, Louis Robinson, Lucas Reeley (Plymouth District Scouts and Explorers)

Laura Kennington, Finn Jenkins, Gavin Ball, Jude White (Tavistock and District Youth Forum)

Yusuf Mazumder, Jake Southern, Ben Southern, James Marsh, Igor Savenko-Christie, Ashley Scott Waterhouse (197 Squadron ATC, Plymouth and Cornwall Wing ATC)

Cian Kinsella (Dartmoor Plodders)

Young Enterprise

We were pleased to pick up two awards at the Young Enterprise presentation evening last night.

Well done to Sigma who collected the Enterprise Award and Christmas Trade Fair Cup and thanks to the members of staff who have supported them.

150515 Sigma

Sports Update

Parents, students and staff enjoyed an evening of celebration last Friday at our second Sports Presentation Evening. Katherine Endacott was the Guest of Honour and following many awards and acknowledgements, Adam Spencer received the Community Award and Henry Wilson was named the DHSB Sports Personality of the Year.


Congratulations to our Year 7 team who took the Plymouth Cup title with a 2-1 victory over Hele’s School.

150515 Year 7 Football


Mr Strang says we’ve had ‘a good start’ to the athletics season.

Our Year 7, 8 and 9 teams were all winners at the Super 8 championships at Brickfields.

150515 Athletics


Members of our Year 8 cricket team looked very smart as they took on Mount Kelly in the first round of the Devon competition.

They went on to win the match.

150515 Year 8 Cricket


Well done to William Freer and Toby Leung who convincingly won the U13 doubles event at the South West Counties badminton championships last weekend.

Toby went on to win the singles event to ensure that our boys claimed all the available titles.

150515 Badminton

Toby and William


bottom of page